Tea Tree line: The Body Shop – REVIEW

Being in the middle of exam season at the moment involves little sleep, tons of stress, and tons of irregular eating patterns. All of that combined is a recipe for breakouts, but thanks to the Tea Tree line from The Body Shop I can focus more on studying and less on whether there’s mountains on my face or not! I’m going to share some of my favourite products from the line, as well as mention a couple that I feel aren’t worth the cost (for my skin at least!).

 

Tea Tree Oil (10mL): $12.00

The tea tree oil concentrate is my secret weapon when it comes to those blemishes that are essentially the mountains I mentioned earlier (you know the ones). They’re super painful and just looking at them causes more pain. I take a cotton swab and dip it in the oil and rub it on the problem area to help soothe the pain, and after a couple hours the swelling goes down as well, making the blemish [somewhat] bearable.

The Body Shop also sells a Tea Tree Targeted Gel Stick, which I used to use, but I found the tea tree oil concentrate to be much more effective at treating my imperfections.

 


Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion (30mL): $20.00

Tea Tree Mattifying Lotion (30mL): $15.00

I use these two infrequently, so usually only when my face is really bad (after I go on a fast food binge for a week) and I have multiple small blemishes all around my face. I use the night lotion at night (…duh) right before I go to sleep, and immediately in the morning the redness and size of the blemishes are already going down. I will then use the mattifying lotion as my moisturizer before my makeup just for a little added treatment for the day. The mattifying lotion is also nice for longer days as it does keep your face significantly mattified for a long period of time!

 


Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash (250mL): $15.00

Tea Tree Body Wash (250mL): $15.00

Like the night lotion and mattifying lotion, I only use the facial wash when my skin is acting up. It helps to turn down the unwanted party of blemishes on my face; right when I step out of the shower I notice an immediate difference in redness and size! However, the body wash I’m not a huge fan of. I used it on a constant basis for my chest and back and noticed zero results. In fact, I discovered that the facial wash is actually much more effective as a body wash than the actual body wash is! I now often use the facial wash on my chest and back when needed.

 

img_1308
Tea Tree Skin Clearing Mattifying Toner (250mL): $14.00

Finally, my holy grail toner! I use this religiously, 1-2 times a day. This is used more as preventative treatment on my regular, non-stressful, non-fat-filled food days. Depending on the morning and how my skin feels, I sometimes use a hydrating toner in the morning, but I’ll always use this at night after taking my makeup off.
My stock of Tea Tree products tends to last me a year, give or take, as most products I don’t use on a daily basis. The best time of year to purchase these products from The Body Shop is during Cyber Monday, where each year they have 50% off [almost] everything on their website! However, throughout the year they often have BOGO deals in store and online (usually buy 2 get 1 free/buy 3 get 2 free). Hopefully this helps you stay clear this exam season.

~ D

One thought on “Tea Tree line: The Body Shop – REVIEW

Leave a Reply

